“Cheese” Sauce


This recipe is adapted from one posted by SusanV on FatFree Vegan Kitchen.  I didn’t have all of the ingredients so, as usual, I made crazyish substitutions and hoped it would turn out…. and it tastes good!  I’m using it in an also-modified version of SusanV’s eggplant parmesan recipe

“Cheese” Sauce

  • half a block of extra-firm tofu
  • 1/2 cup vegetable broth (I like Pacific Natural Foods brand)
  • 1/4 cup raw cashews
  • 1 tsp. onion powder
  • 1 1/2 tbsp. nutritional yeast flakes
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/8 tsp. pepper
  • 2 tsp. corn starch

Just put it all in a blender and turn it on- doesn’t get easier than that!

Note: this recipe contains a few processed ingredients, the most notorious of which is tofu.  While I have GREATLY reduced my consumption of soy and soy products, including tofu, I will still eat it occasionally.  Please don’t crucify me, soy protesters!

Leave a Reply

