RAVE Diet Recipe #9- Buckwheat Pasta


I made this very tasty dish for dinner.  Called “Pasta- Buckwheat Pasta” in the RAVE book, it was very simple and quick to make.  I rated Buckwheat Pasta a 7 and my husband gave it an 8, so here’s the recipe!

  • 12 oz whole wheat soba noodles (I found these in the Japanese section of my grocery store)
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 3 cups sliced fresh mushrooms
  • 1-1/2 cups cold water
  • 4 T vegetable broth (I used Pacific Foods brand)
  • 2 T whole wheat flour
  • 2 tsp low-sodium Tamari (soy sauce) (I used Bragg’s Liquid Aminos because I was out of soy sauce)
  • 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp. black pepper

Saute the onion and broth in a large skillet until onion is transparent, then add mushrooms.  Cover and continue cooking until mushrooms are brown.  Whisk flour and water together until smooth, then add to skillet along with the Tamari, garlic powder, and pepper.  Cook, uncovered, over medium-low heat until thickened.  Bring water to boil in a large kettle.  Add the noodles and boil until al dente, about 8 minutes.

I used my ceramic frying pan with great success with this recipe.  The dish has enough moisture throughout the cooking process to keep anything from sticking as long as you stir it every once in awhile.  This was a great way to eat soba and was delicious even without any added oil or salt!  I’m not sure why I only gave it a 7.  Maybe because it’s not very colorful?  Presentation is so important, in my opinion.


One thought on “RAVE Diet Recipe #9- Buckwheat Pasta

Leave a Reply

