How to Replace Eggs When Baking


courtesy of karmafreecooking.files.wordpress.com

Apparently I have become somewhat known at work for my healthy diet (or attempts at least).  Today someone let me know that there were some vegan muffins in the office.  “What does vegan mean?” they asked me, and when I told them that it meant no meat, dairy, or eggs, they wanted to know what is used in place of egg as a binder when baking.

What do you use anyway?  Well, there are actually quite a few options out there.  Some popular ones are applesauce, other fruits like mashed banana, and tofu (it won’t fluff, but it does have the right texture and can take on any taste).  You can also use flaxseeds and water.  I have never personally tried the flaxseed one, but it looks interesting and I really should.

One thing to consider when deciding on an egg replacement for a recipe that calls for eggs is what the egg was needed for anyway.  Is it binding, fluffiness, taste?

What eggs do:

Provide fluffiness in cakes

Moisten and bind in muffins and cookies

Provide consistency and flavor in quiches, omelets, fritata, etc.

In a savory recipe, things like mashed potatoes, oats, tomato paste, breadcrumbs, cornmeal and flour will help to bind and thicken your dish.  Below are some egg replacement “recipes” that you can experiment with.

General egg replacers:

  • 1 T whole flaxseeds (or 2 1/2 T ground) + 3 T water = 1 Egg  (let it gel before using or trying simmering the mixture to thicken)
  • 1 T plain agar + 1 T water = 1 Egg white  (whip, chill, and whip again)
  • 2 T water + 1 T oil + 2 tsp baking powder = 1 Egg

For desserts and sweets (add an extra 1/2 tsp. baking powder when using fruit substitutes because they will produce a heavier product):

  • 1/4 Cup mashed banana, applesauce, pureed pumpkin, prunes = 1 Egg

For relatively flat baking products, like pancakes (just to replace the moisture):

  • 1-2 T water = 1 Egg

When egg is the main ingredient (as in a quiche):

  • 1/4 Cup pureed soft tofu = 1 Egg

When you need a binder for a savory dish:

  • 2-3 T tomato paste, potato starch, arrowroot powder, mashed potatoes, or whole wheat flour = 1 Egg

E-mail me your favorite whole food vegan recipes that use egg replacer and I’ll add them to this page!

2 thoughts on “How to Replace Eggs When Baking

  1. This is cool! I am not vegan, but I do not do well with eggs. They don’t like me. Plus I rarely have them in the fridge since I use them so rarely.
    I’ve to use tofu to make scrambled “eggs” and it is nice to know I can replace eggs in other recipes.

    • Yeah, my mom can’t eat eggs either, so I have tried various recipes without eggs for her in the past (some successfully, some not). 🙂 I had about decided that it was just easier to make recipes that didn’t call for eggs in the first place, but now I’m inspired to try some more substitutes.

Leave a Reply

